Partners and Participants

Gammelgårdenm, Scandia, MN

Gammelgårdenm, Scandia, MN

The Heritage Initiative is an open process, welcoming participation and leadership from all members of the community.

The Initiative is being facilitated by the St. Croix Valley Foundation and is led by a task force comprised of citizens from through the region. Participants represents a wide array of interests with broad geographic spread, including nonprofit, business and government entities. The St. Croix National Scenic Riverway is offering technical assistance in navigating the Feasibility Study and designation process.

St. Croix Valley Foundation, facilitator

  • Jill Shannon, Director of Community Partnerships, 715-386-9490
  • Marty Harding, Task Force Chair and SCVF Board Member
  • Jane Stevenson, President

Heritage Initiative Task Force

  • Alyssa Auten, Folsom House – Taylors Falls, MN
  • Kathy Bartilson, WI DNR – Spooner, WI
  • Sam Griffith, City of Sandstone – Sandstone, MN
  • John Lennes, Rotary – Marine on St Croix, MN
  • Ann Moonen, Gammelgarden Advokat – Scandia, MN
  • Bill Neuman, St. Croix Scenic Coalition & St. Croix Scenic Byway – St. Croix Falls, WI
  • Danette Olsen, ArtReach St. Croix, St. Croix Festival Theatre – Stillwater, MN & St. Croix Falls, WI
  • Scott Peterson, Friends of the St. Croix Headwaters – Gordon, WI
  • Tangi Schaapveld, Chisago Lakes Chamber of Commerce – Lindstrom, MN
  • Margaret Smith, Friends of Freedom Park – Prescott, WI
  • John Velin, St. Croix River Association – St. Croix Falls, WI/White Bear Lake, MN

St. Croix National Scenic Riverway – technical assistance

  • Chris Stein, Superintendent
  • Julie Galonska, Chief of Interpretation and Education
  • Jean Schaeppi, Cultural Resource/Interpretive Specialist